RESEARCH COMMITTEE OF SENATE March 20, 2012, 3:30 – 5:00

CN Board Room

Minutes

- Call to order Present: Tom Dickinson, , Eshan Latif, Will Garrett-Petts, Roger Yu, Jim Hu, Jerri-Lynn Cameron, Debbie Krebs, Kim Munich, Susan Forseille, Jessica Risley Regrets: Don Noakes, Paul Manhas, Barb Paterson, Star Mahara, Kallee Caton Called to order 3:40 pm
- 2. Adoption of Agenda Agenda adopted as submitted. *On motion duly moved by Tom Dickinson, seconded by Kim Munich, and passed unanimously by committee, it was resolved to adopt as submitted*
- 3. Approval of Minutes February 21, 2012. Minutes approved as submitted with minor change. *On motion duly moved by Kim Munich, seconded by Roger Yu, and passed unanimously by committee, it was resolved to adopt as submitted*
- Report of AVP- Research and Graduate Studies Jerri-Lynn Cameron presented information on the Master Scholar Award and the Award for Excellence in Scholarship. Adjudication committee has met and endorsed Peter Murphy, Mohamid Tawhid and Kingsly Donker respectively as award recipients. UREAP Awards have also been completed – 21 applications, 16 approved.
- 5. Report of Chair (Ehsan Latif) No report
- 6. New Business
 - a. Report on meeting with Research Ethics Committee Tom Dickinson Tom has met with the HREC and resolved several issues. He has confirmed with the committee that they will remain functional until the end of April in order to process outstanding applications. Transistional meetings will take place over the next 1-2 months to implement required changes. It was agreed by committee that Tom Dickinson, Will Garrett-Petts and Debbie Krebs will meet with HREC to implement transition.

Action item: D.Krebs to organize meeting in April.

- b. Formation of Research Ethics Committee (Human Subjects) and Animal Care Committee.
 Animal care committee existing committee is okay with the addition of one more faculty member. Committee reviewed list of people who had put their names forward and voted on nomination for Tracey Hoot (tenured), as the arms length faculty member position. Committee approved
- c. Terms of Reference: UREAP Committee (Ehsan Latif) TOR is being prepared for this. Jerri-Lynn Cameron has written TOR and this will come forward for the December meeting
- d. Faculty Mentoring Committee Ehsan has discussed this concept at Senate and Don Noakes, both of whom are supportive. As we are not a large university and many divisions do not have many faculty members or many tenured researchers it would be advantages for TRU to establish some mentors for new faculty researchers. Committee agreed and will further discuss ways in which these mentors can be identified and an acceptable forum in which to bring researchers together.

Master Undergraduate Mentor Award Committee formation – Discussion and formation of committee to include: Ehsan Latif, Gary Hunt, Sandra Vermuellen, Karl Larsen, Lach Fraser

- 7. Adjournment Adjourned at 4:50 pm
- 8. Next Meeting April 17, 2012, CN Boardroom